Close this search box.

Board of Trustees

The Fort Monroe Authority, a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, is governed by a fourteen member Board of Trustees. Two members are from the Governor’s Cabinet and are non-voting members, two are the Senator and Delegate in whose district Fort Monroe lies, two are appointed by the City of Hampton and eight are appointed by the Governor of Virginia. An Executive Director reports to the Board and oversees a staff with expertise in operations and maintenance, real estate, public programs, historic preservation and communications.

The Honorable James P. Moran
Founder, Moran Global Strategies
Chair, Board of Trustees

Mary Bunting
City Manager, City of Hampton

The Honorable Caren Merrick
Secretary of Commerce and Trade
Ex-officio, Non-voting Member

The Honorable Travis Voyles
 Secretary of Natural and Historic Resources
Ex-officio, Non-voting Member

The Honorable A. C. Cordoza
State Delegate-Virginia 91st House

 Season Roberts                                      Managing Partner, Charrette Agency

James R. (Jay) Joseph
Senior Vice President, Harvey Lindsay Commercial Real Estate

The Honorable Mamie Locke
State Senator-Virginia Senate
District 2

John Reynolds
Retired, National Park Service

Keith F. Anderson                                          Principal Chief and Environmental Program Director, Nansemond Indian Nation

Dr. Rex Ellis
Retired, Associate Director for Curatorial Affairs, National Museum of African American History and Culture, Smithsonian Institution

Benita Thompson-Byas
Senior Vice President, Thompson Hospitality

Brian Jackson
Partner, Hirschler Law Firm

Dr. Charletta Barringer-Brown  Dean of  Humanities, Social Sciences, and Business Southside Virginia Community College