Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / search

Board of Trustees


The Fort Monroe Authority is governed by a fourteen member Board of Trustees. Two members are from the Governor’s Cabinet and are non-voting members, two are the Senator and Delegate in whose district Fort Monroe lies, two are appointed by the City of Hampton and eight are appointed by the Governor of Virginia. An Executive Director reports to the Board and oversees a staff with expertise in operations and maintenance, real estate, public programs, historic preservation and communications.

The Honorable James P. Moran
Senior Policy Advisor, Nelson Mullins
Chair, Board of Trustees

Mary Bunting
City Manager, City of Hampton

The Honorable Brian Ball
Secretary of Commerce and Trade
Ex-officio, Non-voting Member

The Honorable Matt Strickler
Secretary of Natural Resources
Ex-officio, Non-voting Member

The Honorable Martha Mugler
State Delegate-Virginia House
District 91

T. Destry Jarvis
Consultant, Outdoor Recreation and Park Services, LLC

James R. (Jay) Joseph
Senior Vice President, Harvey Lindsay Commercial Real Estate

The Honorable Mamie Locke
State Senator-Virginia Senate
District 2

Dr. Maureen Elgersman Lee

John Reynolds
Retired, National Park Service

Dr. Edward Ayers
Professor and President Emeritus
University of Richmond

Dr. Rex Ellis
Retired, Associate Director for Curatorial Affairs, National Museum of African American History and Culture, Smithsonian Institution

Benita Thompson Byas
Thompson Hospitality

Brian Jackson
Hirschler Law Firm


All meetings held at 1:00pm unless otherwise noted.

Meeting Type Date Location
FMA Board Thurs., February 20 Richmond 1pm Patrick Henry Bldg East Reading Room
FMA Board Weds. and Thurs., April 15-16 CANCELLED Fort Monroe 3pm 4/15 and 8 am 4/16
FMA Board Thurs., June 18 Fort Monroe Theatre 10 am
41 Tidball Road
FMA Board Thurs.,September 17 Virtual Public Meeting
FMA Board Thurs., November 19 Paradise Ocean Club
490 Fenwick Road